Skip to content

He’s Got the Whole World… (New York- Part 4)

August 29, 2014

Our last day in New York and we are in for one more multicultural experience. We split into small groups and are sent to different ethnic churches to worship with them. Our group heads toward a Chinese Lutheran fellowship, with no real idea as to what to expect.

                The singing has already begun so we take some seats in the back. The keyboard is going strong and bright, silk, fan-shaped flags are being waved up front; the three ladies on mics are singing for all their worth. While this style is not my personal preference of worship, I’m thankful that we as God’s people worship in different ways. One song on the overhead has an English translation, so I try to sing along. I want to worship with these brothers and sisters, not just see them as a curiosity.

                The last song sung repeats a phrase that says, “Jesus is King, He is the King of Peace”. You can feel the energy building. A man leaves his seat, heading toward the altar, and begins to wave a big, blue and white flag with wonderful Hebrew letters. A couple other people raise up shofars (ram’s horns) and blow long and loud. The singing grows stronger as the whole congregation raises their hands toward heaven. It’s as if the joy of Israel is being reenacted, such as when the Ark of the Covenant was returned to its rightful place in Jerusalem and David danced in the streets with abandon. These brothers and sisters are so full of joy in the King! Trying not to cry, I feel sweat trickle down my spine and suddenly realize that my chest is tight. This lavish worship is so beautiful.

                It’s incredible how the Holy Spirit is able to unite all people, regardless of whether they have the same nationality or even speak the same language! I have no idea what the pastor is saying during the sermon, but these people and I share the same indwelling power of God that is able to bind us together in love. Our shared faith supersedes culture, language, or melanin count. These dear souls are my brothers and sisters!

My family just got bigger.

But now it’s time to go back home.

We stop to debrief and share our highlights, we laugh at ourselves, and praise the Lord for His power among us. We take one more group picture, say our farewells, and load up. We aren’t really ready to go home yet as we watch the Chinese markets and skyscrapers go past the window.

Driving through Times Square to get out of the city and the sidewalks are simply bombarded with people. When the Lord comes, will He find faith on the earth…?

In this city?

In us?

In me?

For You were slain,
And have redeemed us to God by Your blood
Out of every tribe and tongue and people and nation,
And have made us kings and priests to our God;
And we shall reign on the earth.

After these things I looked, and behold, a great multitude which no one could number, of all nations, tribes, peoples, and tongues, standing before the throne and before the Lamb

-Revelation 5:9-10 & 7:9

And Jesus came and spoke to them, saying, “All authority has been given to Me in heaven and on earth. Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit,  teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” Amen

-Matthew 28:18-20

Be still, and know that I am God;
I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth!

–Psalm 46:10

No comments yet

Leave a comment